Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [ID] Topic: INTERVIEW: Yamane talks Inspiration, Lords of Shadow Music and more!  (Read 14057 times)

Offline Ahasverus

• Just a long slumber
  • Master Hunter
  • Wandering on horizon road
  • Awards Permanent Resident: Seems to always be around to post/reply. Town Crier: Updates the forum with many news items, often not even Castlevania. The Great Defender will always defend the object of his or her fandom.
    • Awards
  • Favorite Game: DraculaX: Rondo of Blood (PC-Engine)
- In the time you joined Konami, videogames were very different than now, composers did not have the resources they have nowadays to make the music they want. How do you decide you wanted to compose music for video games?

When I graduated from University, it was time for me to consider which way I should take. My high school handed me an offer to be a part-time lecturer of music, but I don’t know why I didn’t like the option.

I think I’d rather be composing or arranging music rather than teaching.

Around the same time, I found a classified ad from KONAMI, I applied immediately and I was hired. In the end, I joined a videogame company by chance.

-Are you a gamer? What kind of games do you like?

I do like playing games. When I joined my company I used to play a lot of shooters or action games. Especially Parodius, which had children thronged at the arcades. I also liked Vagrant Story, God of War or the Tomb Rader series.
Nowadays, I rarely play anything, but I like games such as ICO or the Professor Layton or Ace Attorney series, which require the player to think.

-What is your opinion about the music and sounds used by the classic video games (eg SD-Snatcher, Twinbee…) in contrast to the complex and orchestral current pieces?