Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [ID] Topic: Castlevania: Dark Night Prelude (my fan film)  (Read 5284 times)

Offline Tuxedo Mark

• Vampire Hunter
  • I love Sonia Belmont.
    • My YouTube Channel
    • Awards
  • Favorite Game: Castlevania Legends (GBC)
Castlevania: Dark Night Prelude (my fan film)
« on: November 27, 2014, 12:57:50 PM »
On December 12, 2012, I started planning out a Castlevania fan film. As the title suggests, it's based on Legends. I spent around a month planning the script, and then I started writing it, on and off, whenever I had the time (in all actuality, I took most of 2013 and around the first four months of 2014 off). The first draft is almost done. Just a few scenes left to write.

To be clear, I have very little experience with video. I still have a tape-based camera, though I hope to get a digital camcorder soon. I took two years of TV Production in high school (1994-1996) and have edited videos for YouTube and fan-edited some films for FanEdit.org. I have never, however, written, shot, and edited an entire movie before. I plan to create some original shorts to gain practice before I even attempt to produce and direct this movie, so this a few years away at least. However, with the first draft of the screenplay being so close to completion, I thought it would be appropriate to announce the film to the Castlevania community on the 17th anniversary of Dark Night Prelude's Japanese release.

My approach:

*write within my means (microbudget, no flashy effects, etc.)

*use what's in the instruction manual (English and Japanese) and game but also try to add real-world historical flavor

*Sonia-centric (so Alucard and Dracula don't appear very much)

*all of the games are canon (there are references to the LoI backstory, and Sonia has a dream/vision of the creation of the Vampire Killer - plus there are some references to Simon's Quest and other games)