Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10
As far as Konami picking up Seal of the Eclipse, crazier things have happened, and successful games like Sonic Mania started from the fan community and ended as an officially published game, but that isn't common.

I have some experience pitching to Konami. A few years ago, Konami Europe started an indie publishing program, which ended up publishing games like Skelettack. This publishing program is for games more like Seal of the Eclipse and Carpathian Night, which are smaller games made by truly indie individuals or studios. I pitched Carpathian Night to them, and they reviewed it, but they felt it wouldn't be a good fit because the messaging would be confusing - a Konami game that looks and plays like Castlevania, but isn't Castlevania? And since this is a completely separate program from anything related to their main IPs, its not really in their power to just turn CN into an official Castlevania game. We did end up getting rejected.

I think Konami would only be willing to talk to established studios with a proven track record for anything Castlevania related, but they also have avenues open for smaller guys like us with original indie games, but we just weren't a good fit.
Actually it’s quite the opposite unfortunately. Konami will never just say “here you guys have at it” especially to amateur developers. MercurySteam is an established company so they got to do it, but fan made projects such as this have little to no chance.

Granted they are more lenient to the IP than Nintendo whom are infamous in shutting down fan projects left & right, but there have been dozens of CV fan hacks over the years and not once has Konami took notice & offered them a job.